Download: DJ Treats Sow Live (Grace Hotel 2010)

Grace Hotel Pool Bar by Shanna Ravindra via New York Mag

If there was a fire raging at the Grace Hotel no one noticed. There really wasn’t one, despite the incessant ringing of the fire alarms throughout my DJ set. And, if there was anything burning up, it was me standing just inches away from the steam rooms, with my shirt on. At Times Square’s Grace Hotel though, there’s the option to take a dip in the pool right below the DJ booth. No one actually exercised their right to swim during the birthday party for @esso and one of my dear supporters @sowmyak. Everyone seemed to be drenching themselves in the spirits at the bar, far away, out of sight.

But if there’s one thing I’ve learned in all my years of deejaying the most unconventional gigs (Obama fundraisers) in the most uncomfortable of surroundings (records melting in the summer), one of the hardest things to do is DJ without seeing your crowd. I think in an episode of Just Blaze‘s Master of the Mix DJ-based reality show, the contestants are faced with the daunting challenge of spinning blind to an audience behind a giant curtain. It’s probably easier to catch flies with chopsticks than try to read an audience of drunkies in search of that one song that will completely lower their inhibitions. That’s my goal when I go to work. Ask anyone that was at the Grace Hotel, there were no complaints. Either way, I still wanted to be sure that I performed up to par, so I recorded my set. Only problem is that I had my Garageband settings recording all the activity around the DJ booth, including whatever blared* from the monitors. You’ll hear me raving about whatever I’m playing at that moment during random visits from homies. Then of course, there are the fire alarms that chime in like the West Indian Parade just converged on Times Square. For more fire, download the live set after the jump.

DJ Treats Sow Live (Grace Hotel 2010) Tracklist

1. Drake feat. T.I. and Swizz Beatz – “Fancy”
2. Ashanti – “Only U”
3. Kelis – “Get Along With You”
4. Usher – “Throwback”
5. Lloyd – “Hazel”
6. Lloyd feat. 50 Cent – “Let’s Get It In”
7. Kanye West feat. Rick Ross, Jay-Z and Nicki Minaj – “Monster”
8. Clipse feat. Yo Gotti and Pharrell – “Showin Out”
9. Ghostface Killah feat. Raekwon and U-God – “Black Jesus”
10. Method Man feat. Blue Raspberry – Release Yo’ Delf
11. Method Man – “Bring the Pain”
12. Mobb Deep feat. Vita – “Burn”
13. DMX – “Fuck All Day Fuck All Night”
14. LL Cool J – “Luv U Better”
15. Ray J feat. Pharrell – “Formal Invite”
16. 112 – “Peaches and Cream”
17. Mary J. Blige – “Love No Limit” (Remix)
18. Miguel feat. J. Cole – “All I Want Is You”
19. Erykah Badu – “Soldier”
20. The Roots – “Don’t Say Nuthin'”
21. Common feat. Kanye West – “Southside”
22. Kanye West feat. Jay-Z, Pusha T, Prince Cy-Hi, RZA and Swizz Beatz – “So Appalled”
23. Jay-Z feat. Kanye West and Rihanna – “Run This Town” (Acapella)
24. Hard Times Riddim
25. IWayne – “Livin In Love”
26. Richie Spice – “Ghetto Girl”
27. Rihanna – “Man Down”
28. M.I.A. feat. Nicki Minaj – “Teqkilla” (Remix)
29. Ludacris – “How Low”
30. Lil Jon feat. Pleasure P – “Like A Stripper”
31. Ciara – “Gimme Dat”
32. Drake feat. Birdman and Lil Wayne – “Loonies To Blow” (A-Trak Remix)
33. Blaqstarr feat. Rye Rye – “Shake It To The Ground” (Claude Vonstroke Remix)
34. Nicki Minaj feat. – “Check It Out”
35. Usher feat. – “OMG”
36. Joell Ortiz – “Drunk”
37. De La Soul – “A Roller Skating Jam Named Saturdays” (Dave’s At Home Mix)
38. Rock Master Scott and The Dynamic Three – “The Roof Is On Fire”
39. Esso & Woody – “Don’t Stop”
40. Wiz Khalifa – “The Kid Frankie”
41. 2Pac feat. Dat Nigga Daz, Kurupt, Method Man and Redman – “I Got My Mind Made Up”
42. Kanye West feat. Raekwon and KiD CuDi – “Gorgeous”
43. KiD CuDi – “Ashin Kusher”
44. Red Cafe feat. Diddy and Fabolous – “Money Money Money”
45. Drake feat. Nicki Minaj – “Up All Night”

Click here to download DJ Treats Sow Live (Grace Hotel 2010)

*Ed Note: The levels are intense because this is how music should be played at parties: LOUD. I suggest enjoying this recording at a low volume, to yourself through headphones.

One thought on “Download: DJ Treats Sow Live (Grace Hotel 2010)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s